The 10th TWAS-ROLAC (Latin America and the Caribbean Regional Office of The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) Young Scientist Conference will take place at the Grafton Beach Resort in Tobago from December 7-9, 2011.


This is historic in the sense that it will be the first time the Conference will be held outside of Brazil.  Research work undertaken in frontier areas of Medical, Agriculture, Natural and Engineering Science will be presented by young scientists aged 40 and under from Argentina, Barbados, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Ecuador, Guyana, Guadeloupe, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuela.  A number of regional outstanding scientists from Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC) will be present to interact with the young scientists.   These includes Professors Antonio Carlos Campos de Carvalho (Brazil), Carlos Di Prisco (Venezuela), Francisco Barrantes (Argentina), Manuel Limonta (Mexico)Rafael Vicuña (Chile), Ishenkumba Kahwa (Jamaica), Sean Mc Dowell (Barbados) and Senator Professor Harold Ramkissoon (Trinidad and Tobago).

In addition a number of annual awards including the 2011 CARICOM Science Award will be presented at the Opening Ceremony on December 7th.  The Honorable Vernella Alleyne-Toppin, Minister of Tobago Development will deliver the Keynote Address while The Honorable Tillman Thomas, Prime Minister of Grenada and Prime Minister responsible for Science and Technology in CARICOM will present the 2011 CARICOM Science Award and give an Address.

The Conference, is being organized by CARISCIENCE a UNESCO affiliated organization, and financially sponsored by the Academy of Sciences for Developing World (TWAS), UNESCO, Governments of Brazil, Chile, Mexico, Trinidad and Tobago, BG Trinidad and Tobago, PROMAN AG (Trinidad) Ltd, National Gas Company of Trinidad and Tobago Limited, First Citizens Bank Limited and The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Campus.