The CARICOM Secretariat jointly with CARISCIENCE, a UNESCO affiliated organization, The University of the West Indies, The University of Trinidad and Tobago and The University of the Southern Caribbean will be hosting the annual CARICOM SCIENCE AWARD and Banquet to be held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, Port of Spain on October 8, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. This prestigious award recognizes eminent Caribbean scientists that have made sterling contribution to the development of science impacting the peoples of the Caribbean. We are pleased to announce that the distinguished recipients are:

  • Professor Samuel Ramsewak, former Dean of the Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Campus, Trinidad and Tobago, and
  • Professor Dalip Ragoobirsingh, Director of the University of the West Indies Diabetes Education Programme and Professor of Medical Biochemistry and Diabetology.


*****Tickets are available in our office at UWI.  1-868-620-5288

2017 CARICOM Science Award Banquet