Professor Vijay Naraynsingh from the Medical Faculty of UWI has been declared the recipient of the prestigious 2015 CARICOM Science Award and joins a number of distinguished scientist such as Professor Emeriti Harold Ramkissoon from Trinidad and Tobago and Gerald Lalor from Jamaica.

Graduating with medals and distinctions in Anatomy and Surgery at UWI in 1974, Professor Naraynsingh has had a most distinguished career that has led to him being the recipient of inter alia a Readership in Surgery in 1990 and both a Personal Chair (1997) and the Departmental Chair (2002) at UWI.  Readership represents a mark of distinction bestowed upon very few based solely on high quality original research work.


Professor Naraynsingh has published extensively in his field, authoring over 250 articles in internationally peer-review high impact journals and co-authoring 6 book chapters on vascular surgery.  In addition, he has made over 120 presentations at all levels- internationally, regionally and locally.  His work reflects a pioneering surgical spirit seeking new boundaries, challenging dogma and resulting in at least a dozen new revolutionary surgical techniques.

Professor Naraynsingh’s other achievements include; being one of the youngest (age 42) to receive the National Chaconia Gold Medal; the first and only Caribbean surgeon to be granted a Fellowship at the Royal College of Surgeons where he was also the first examiner to be appointed from the Caribbean.


The CARICOM Science Award overseen by CARISCIENCE and CARICOM, was first introduced in 2006 by the then Prime Minister, for Science and Technology in CARICOM the Rt. Honorable Dr. Keith Mitchell and represents recognition of the leading scientists of the region.  Associated with this Award is an Open Public Lecture which Professor Vijay Naraynsingh delivered on Wednesday 25, 2015 at 6:00 pm the Teaching and Learning Complex on the St. Augustine Campus of The University of West Indies.

The title of this Lecture is: “How to Think and Write: A Surgeon’s Personal View”.

2015 CARICOM Science Awardee